Despedida (en la voz de la Querida) / Farewell (in the Beloved’s voice) – a poem in Spanish with English translation

“muriéndome está el cuerpo
pero es de nube el alma
la lágrima solitaria
de una vida ya tan vacía
que cree que esté llena

“¡oh lluvia seca!  ¡oh luna negra!
miradme – una hormiga
vagando por el desierto
de tantos sueños tan cascados
me han matado las astillas
ya una sombra soy
un objeto sin propio sujeto

“me ha quemado la luz
del engaño mío.
¡oh amor sin par!
son mis cenizas el suelo
en donde crece tu siguiente vida.”

*    *   *

(translation)

“my body is expiring
but made of cloud’s my soul
the solitary tear
of a life now so empty
that it thinks itself full

“oh, parched rain!  oh, inky moon!
look at me – an ant
wandering through the wasteland
of so many and such fractured dreams
I’ve been dispatched by their splinters
now I’m a shadow
an object without its own subject

“I’m burned up by the glow
of my own delusion.
Oh, love without peer!
my ashes are the ground
in which grows your ensuing life.”

*    *   *

(c) Gregory V Driscoll  2012

Leave a Reply

