Music

off to my right on the deck
there’s a young woman standing
as we wait for the ferry to dock,
the lobes of her ears bearing
large gold hoop earrings,
the conchas of her ears stuffed
with the iPod’s white
diminutive round speakers,
the wires joining at her breast
then snaking into her jacket pocket:
deaf as I am in my right ear,
I can hear from yards away
the rush of blurred lyrical sounds;
I hope she hears the music of this world
and, as important, the music within her.

*    *   *

(c) Gregory V Driscoll  2012

2 responses to “Music

  1. Zellie M. Quinn

    You captured the moment so well! She is missing the sounds of the waves lapping against the ship, the horns of ships and ferrys, the sound of people talking, laughing, and being. I turned off my tv for the day just to live my life. Seem to be writing more too:)

  2. Thanks for your comment. It’s what I was thinking at the time, and when I come upon so many others, blasting their sense of hearing to oblivion and also their awareness of the wonders around them…even in a city like mine.

Leave a Reply

