words

first the words fill me
then they empty me   dead and living voices
a tide of verses  and I
that beach sodden  or this   so dry
that blue crab
making dreams bubble up without guile
or this fish that sings worriedly
in its pond-world battered by the sun
they pursue me   rend me   devour me
now wave after wave  spent
like countless shells
in the sands of my days
there lie loves   hatreds   sorrows
and at last  this joy

*    *    *

© Gregory V Driscoll  2013

3 responses to “words

  1. Carl Sandburg once wrote that “Nothing happens unless first a dream.” In a very real way, my life has been one dream after another.

  2. I completely agree with that.

Leave a Reply

