on the road, dining alone – a memory

at the table set with fine linen
the rose in the vase and I
supped together in silence
the candle too was burning
just as I burn for you

in my true rose’s company
I wished so much to dine
but  put simply  it just could not be
the fine food took on
a blander mundane taste

but the candle burned
more brightly through the gloom
the rose in its ceramic vase
filled my yearning senses
with its perfume and its beauty

*    *   *

© Gregory V Driscoll  2013

Leave a Reply

