simple desires (for Lan)

let me be your mirror   love   so that I
may be the first and last to see you
every morning and every night and so
hold you   if but in reflection
naked and so radiant   may I be
your coffee cup so that each day
you may handle me and keenly greet me
with the vividness of those lips
so red  so very red   oh let me be
your comb  to untangle the dark secrets
of your hair   to travel with you
in your purse of everyday   may I be
your bed’s silk sheet to cover you at night
and learn profoundly the sweetness
of your dear flesh   your pillow let me be
so that I may kiss your cheek  sleep with you
in a dream bewitched by affection  night
after night  my dear love  my very life

*     *     *

© Gregory V Driscoll 2014

Leave a Reply

