meditation while she sleeps (for Lan)

in the forest of time we met
you    my spirit from the realm of bliss
and I    your poet from both far and near
close by the river of whimsy we kissed
you    my dragon-goddess glistening in starlight
and I    your devotee spellbound   enthralled
in the dark waters of uncertainty
with dim stellar spume   unadorned we bathed
you    my ravishing   blinding sun
and I    your shadow filled with smiles
with gentle wooing winds for bedclothes
doting lay we down but not for sleep
you    my spirited paragon of love
and I    your priceless puzzle of verses
ever since then each day we rise
you    my delight   my vision which never ends
and I    your weary  jesting  quotidian truth

*    *   *

© Gregory V Driscoll 2014

Leave a Reply

