lover’s chagrin

ah Spring   enough now
I can no longer stand you
every bird   every bud
every soft breeze blowing
makes me remember her
you’ll not let me escape
her attractions or her charm

come quickly Summer –
oh I’m wrong – Summer   do not come
for you will be worse
with your tireless fervor
and your beautiful hardiness –
how much you resemble her

Autumn save me
come   give me some relief
alas – it’s impossible
for you  Autumn  will be the worst of all
with your fruitful kindness   your radiance

Winter I bless you   I beseech you
in your cool clarity I will wrap myself
alas – I despair – I just realized
you remind me of her
after her bathing naked

ah Nature   enough   enough

*    *   *

© Gregory V Driscoll  2014

2 responses to “lover’s chagrin

  1. Well done. Fascinating.

  2. Thanks for visiting and for your kind comment. I hope you’ll visit again.

Leave a Reply

