piano de cola

the laughter of the keys I hear
melodious wave filled with stars
like notes bubbling to the surface
uncontrollably  I weep  not from sadness
no  it’s this fretful joy that makes me
sob so   this restless delight   this yearning
that your kisses plant within my breast
how they burst forth   my love   how they grow
until they crowd my senses with flowers
capering flowers naked save for dew
now I’ve become a grand piano
enormous  solemn  grizzled
of sonorous wood
of beguiling strings
you fondle my keyboard and make jump
the little hammers of my dreams
of my body’s music
oh virtuoso of the kiss
oh my artist of caresses
touch me in this nocturne  this sonata
touch me   me of sonorous wood
me of beguiling strings

*    *   *

© Gregory V Driscoll  2014

Leave a Reply

