a memory from long ago

among my friends I stand
speaking just to speak
when you pass to go out
every cell of my body
every hope of my soul
even my clothes   all want
to shout out  the only good thing
about your leaving is knowing
I’ll see you once more
but when you take my hand
I remain silent  only my eyes
dare say  the only good thing
about your leaving is knowing
I’ll see you once more
you go   leaving your smile in my fancy
and your perfume hanging in the air
solitude and night encompass me

*    *   *

© Gregory V Driscoll  2014

Leave a Reply

