“I love you beyond mind or memory or measure.” – Zhivago to Lara, from Doctor Zhivago by Boris Pasternak

gone yes but nonetheless you’re here
my downcast eyes are wanderers
among the little dark islands
in the seas of paper of whatever book
thus do I read now that you are gone

distraught I wander through life
seeking your visage so lovely yet so far
now that you are gone    filled
with a thousand songs are my ears
yet I hear not one of them
I sense but your voice laughing so far off
thus do I hear now that you are gone

totally absorbed I roam through my days
following your gentle laughter so far off
now that you are gone    there pass
through my careless hands
so many useless things
longing to touch your skin
I let fall silver  jewels  gold
thus do I touch now that you are gone

enraptured I wander through the night
tracking that touch of yours
made of dream and now so far away
now that you are gone    of a madman
are these lips of mine
I give kisses to the wind and rain
whose cold lips are so fickle    thus
thus do I kiss now that you are gone

driven mad I roam through the world
pursuing your warm embrace
so far   so far away
gone yes but nonetheless you’re here
I die for you   my lovely one
you   made of dream and yet so far

*    *   *

© Gregory V Driscoll  2014

Leave a Reply

