written after prolonged rain

the morning has come and about you
circle my thoughts like my dreams
washed in the light rose-colored dawn
till now it seems for forty days and nights
relentless rains have been falling
even in my eyes and my very soul
but now like a lover who disrobes his lover
the sun undresses the earth   casting off
garments of dismal white fog   and I see
madman that I am   hills   your breasts
white doves with daubs of peerless pink

*    *   *

© Gregory V Driscoll  2014

Leave a Reply

