greeting the day

the sharp edge of the crescent moon
moves through the heavens
in its descending strike
harvesting dreams and stars
for me the best moments are those
voiceless ones before sunrise
at my side you’re asleep
preparing your spirit for
one more day of joy    I hear your heart beat
or is it mine    no matter    they pulse as one
but no    it is the sound of the wind’s knuckles
tapping at our window   half stars   half dream
I see through this towering eye
of wood and crystal the sky
transformed by dawn: two long waves
one the color of the sea    sapphire
the other   the carmine of your lips
good morning   my dearest love   good morrow

*    *   *

© Gregory V Driscoll  2014

3 responses to “greeting the day

  1. ‘one the color of the sea sapphire
    the other the carmine of your lips’ – Sapphire and carmine juxtaposed- very evocative. I made an attempt to use both these colour effects in my poemhttp://writespiritblog.wordpress.com/2014/10/06/crystal-unclear/

  2. Thanks for visiting and for your comment. I read your poem – it is unlike anything I’ve read before. The last line appealed to me the most: From Nature’s alchemy heroes like rubies rare are found.

  3. thank you for taking the time to read and feedback. Much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

