astronomy lesson

these other young women whom I see
yes   they’re charming but only in that way
the moon is    the moon that pilfers
from the hidden sun a soupçon of its luster
love   for me you are the sun but
perhaps I should contemplate and study
all these lesser lights   for if I watch you
too keenly   doubtless I’ll go blind   oh my
but what an enviable blindness that would be
for you   my most true   most intimate friend
through the world  you would guide me
you’d never let me tumble save when it please you
we jointly fall in mutual celebration
so   my love   let me be stricken sightless
give me your hand   my lovely one

*    *   *

© Gregory V Driscoll  2014

2 responses to “astronomy lesson

  1. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaah its awsome. i realy understand you this words. and i loved your poem take care

  2. Thanks for visiting again, and for the impassioned praise.

Leave a Reply

