tending the garden (a bit of ribaldry)

is this that tasty fruit of Eve’s
that brought on Adam’s fall
oh tell me  my love    tell me
whether yes or no  it intrigues me so
what a delightful fruit   how sweet  how juicy
how it bedews my face when I touch it
with my lips   how alluring   how fragrant
how its flushed flesh flutters
when I lick this little bump
what a nest of nerves daubed with honey
fruit of wonders   it even has
little wings that spread out to fly
to heaven from my unstinting kisses
sweet little thing that grows before my eyes
open: it seems so like a thornless rose
closed: a toothsome little treasure
but now without a latch
oh carnal flower   oh fruit of dreams
would that my mouth were ever
a butterfly with nimble wings
or a bee with its zealous buzzing
or a hummingbird with its long beak
or all of them at once so that
when you command us  we will come
to settle on this zesty fruit
love   that little thing of yours now is mine
is this that tasty fruit of Eve’s
that brought on Adam’s fall
oh tell me my love   tell me
if yes then may I fall repeatedly
if no may I be always raised
upright in your Eden’s garden

*    *   *

© Gregory V Driscoll  2015

2 responses to “tending the garden (a bit of ribaldry)

  1. Thanks for your kind comment and for visiting my blog…

Leave a Reply

