after I first saw her (for Lan)

each day I behold her
this young woman who naked bathes
in my dreams dressed only in shadows
cast by the palm trees in early evening
each day I behold her
this goddess who rules the peace
the fury of love    this sweet country girl
from paradise itself

and I tell myself truths
and I tell myself lies

I fill my heart with dreams
and with illusions until to myself
I say  Bacchus am I   ever ready
to be torn asunder
by petite pink and white fingers
of longing    an eye charged with tears am I
bitter and sweet all at once   a star without light
sun benumbed save when she sets me aflame

and because I thought so    because I said so
so was it done    so has it happened

*    *   *

© Gregory V Driscoll  2015

One response to “after I first saw her (for Lan)

  1. A really beautiful expression of love, Greg.

Leave a Reply

