on watching her bake: a memory (for Lan)

alluring baker,  my expert
in cakes and pastries,
pies and loaves,
of everything sweet, everything good –
in me you wake the ferment of desire.
with your skillful hands, knead the dough
of this my compact torta loca!
beautiful one – handle it well!
form it and put it into your little oven.
thanks to the yeast of your beauty
and your skilled kneading,
I’ve started to distend impulsively.
I’m ready now to be baked
in the fiery sweet oven
of my beguiling baker.

*    *   *

© Gregory V Driscoll  2015

Leave a Reply

